Festival Awards
Roving Adjudicator Awards
The Shirley Cockrell Community Theatre Excellence Award

The Theatre Association of New York State established its Endowment Fund in 2008 to honor those community theatres that demonstrate the spirit and diversity of community theatre.
  The Shirley Cockrell Community Theatre Excellence Award will be presented to a TANYS community theatre that provides exemplary service to its community and continually aspires to and maintains the highest level of artistic achievement.
  The Community Theatre Organization must be a current member of TANYS and been a member for at least 5 continuous years.
  The successful organization will have demonstrated outstanding theatrical work and commitment to community and educational theatre over an extended period of time.
  The successful organization will have enriched and educated its communities by providing a diversity of theatrical works: i.e., Original Works, Readers’ Theatre, workshops, classes, etc.
  The successful company will have demonstrated a commitment to its community by partnering with other organizations to promote opportunities for youth, education and social development.
  The successful company will recognize its role in the promotion of the performing arts by membership and participation in the larger theatrical community.
  Nominations must be in writing and include:
TANYS Nomination Form
List of Board of Directors, with addresses
Confirmation of TANYS membership
One page history of the organization
List of Awards and Honors
One page statement on how the company fulfills the criteria of the Award
Three letters of support from people in the community who are not affiliated with the organization
Proof of 501 (c) (3) status
  Deadline for receipt of application – September 30 of each year.
The Shirley Cockrell Community Theatre Excellence Award will be given as merited. It will be presented at the annual TANYS Festival in November. The winning theatre organization will receive a plaque and monetary award.
  The recipient will be selected by a committee of the Eastern States Theatre Association Board of Directors and will not involve any TANYS Board member. The winner will be known only to the Selection Committee until announced at the TANYS Festival.
  For an application, please go to our website  www.tanys.org. Download and complete the application and send to TANYS Awards Committee, PO Box 4143, Rome, NY 13442